Another Winter Break Day of Nothing

Standard

Spent a long day of doing almost nothing, and I wanted to make a quick but yummy dinner, so I whipped up some veggie fried rice. And my roommate and I pretty much scarfed it all down in one sitting:

Image

It was super easy:

  • First you need regular steamed rice (I steamed up a cup of uncooked white rice, would vary cook times for brown), and you can totally just use leftovers if you have them.
  • Heat up some cooking oil on medium heat, just enough to coat the bottom of the pan.
  • Toss the rice in the oil, moving it around with your spoon or spatula, for about 2 minutes.
  • Push all of the rice to one side, and on the other, add one whisked egg. Allow to cook and mix into the rice.
  • Add frozen mixed veggies at the end (I just had peas and carrots, so that’s what I used). Mix until everything is cooked through!
  • Serve with soy sauce and/or sesame oil to taste (I didn’t have much of either, so I used the last of my soy sauce, a little peanut oil, and threw in some extra salt, pepper, garlic, and ginger).
  • (Taken from this WikiHow page)

So there was a lot of oil in this, but it’s okay. I’m washing it down with some tea, a blend of white and green with a hint of citrus. It’s so good.

Yummy TeaPlease also take a moment to appreciate how awesome that mug is. I collect them, and am thinking of featuring them one at a time in a weekly post, telling the story behind each one. Thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

